Euro zone finance ministers in conference call on Ireland

BRUSSELS (BestGrowthStock) – Euro zone finance ministers will discuss Ireland’s application for European Union financial help at a conference call on Sunday at 1700 GMT (12 p.m. EST), but no concrete amounts will be discussed yet, a euro zone source said.

Ireland’s finance minister Brian Lenihan said earlier on Sunday he would recommend to the government at a cabinet meeting this afternoon to formally apply for support from the EU.

The euro zone source said an Irish application “was on its way” and it would be discussed first by euro zone finance ministers in a conference call and then by all EU finance ministers at another call at 1800 GMT (1 p.m. EST).

“No amounts will be discussed today. The ministers will issue a statement tonight,” the source said.

(Reporting by Jan Strupczewski, editing by David Holmes)

Euro zone finance ministers in conference call on Ireland