US STOCKS-Futures lower on debt worries, retail data on tap

* Consumer sentiment, retail sales on tap

* Concerns about euro zone debt crisis re-emerge

* Futures down: S&P 11.2 pts, Dow 67 pts, Nasdaq 16.25 pts

* For up-to-the-minute market news see [STXNEWS/US]
(Writes through, adds details, quote, J.C. Penney results,
byline)

By Leah Schnurr

NEW YORK, May 14 (BestGrowthStock) – U.S. stock index futures fell
on Friday on worries about the impact of heavy euro-zone debt
loads on the global recovery, while investors were cautious
ahead of retail sales data.

The initial optimism over moves this week to keep Greece’s
debt crisis from spreading appeared to be ebbing on fears that
the efforts won’t be enough, and that plans to reign in
national budgets could stifle growth. For details, see
[ID:nLDE64C1TS] and [ID:nEU]

The jitters took the euro to an an 18-month low against the
dollar, while gold hit record highs. Overseas, European shares
(.FTEU3: ) fell nearly 2 percent. [ID:nLDE64D0IB]

“One of the misnomers is that the 750 billion euro ($1
trillion) program and the austerity measures that are being
forced for the loans are going to magically make these problems
go away, and this is not true,” said Jamie Cox, managing
partner of Harris Financial Group in Colonial Heights,
Virginia.

“The contagion threat has been dealt with, but the debt
problems of these countries have been there for decades, and
they’re not going away overnight.”

Shares of Nvidia Corp (NVDA.O: ) fell 4.4 percent to $14
a day after the graphics chipmaker forecast sales below Wall
Street’s target. [ID:nN12201459]

Consumer data on tap includes April retail sales at 8:30
a.m. EDT (1230 GMT) and May preliminary consumer sentiment at
9:55 a.m. EDT (1355 GMT). Retail sales are expected to rise 0.2
percent, compared with a gain of 1.9 percent the month before,
while the consumer sentiment reading is expected at 73.5,
compared with 72.2 in the previous month, according to a
Reuters poll of economists. [ECI/US]

S&P 500 futures (SPc1: ) fell 11.2 points and were below fair
value, a formula that evaluates pricing by taking into account
interest rates, dividends and time to expiration on the
contract. Dow Jones industrial average futures (DJc1: ) lost 67
points, and Nasdaq 100 futures (NDc1: ) shed 16.25 points.

Outlooks from retailers did little to inspire confidence in
the consumer. J.C. Penney Co Inc (JCP.N: ) reported higher
quarterly profit Friday, but gave a modest profit forecast.
[ID:nN14163914]

On Thursday, two other department store chains serving
different markets, Kohl’s Corp (KSS.N: ) and Nordstrom Inc
(JWN.N: ), reported double-digit profit growth, but their
forecasts indicated concerns about consumer spending.
[ID:nN13226661]

Other economic data will include April industrial
production at 9:15 a.m. EDT (1315 GMT) and March business
inventories at 10 a.m. EDT (1400 GMT). Production is expected
to rise 0.6 percent from 0.1 percent the month before, and
business inventories are forecast to rise 0.4 percent, compared
with 0.5 percent.

Energy shares could come under pressure as oil futures
(CLc1: ) fell 1.7 percent to $73.16 a barrel amid swollen crude
inventories and jitters about the European debt crisis.

Stocks fell on Thursday after downbeat comments about the
economy from Cisco Systems Inc (CSCO.O: ), the big maker of
computer routers and switches, and Kohl’s.

Stock Market Analysis

(Editing by Jeffrey Benkoe)

US STOCKS-Futures lower on debt worries, retail data on tap